Fitness Doesn’t Just Mean Exercise

Hi everyone!

Today I wanted to post about two important topics that deal more with the mental aspect of fitness!

Do you all remember my running schedule I posted a while ago? Turns out my body isn’t quite there yet- which leads me to my first topic: listening to your body.

It’s important to listen to your body, whether it be an illness or an injury. I fell in my drive way a month ago and I think I tore something! I iced and stretched like a good little girl, but it’s still bothering me! So, I decided to modify my running schedule. I also just got new shoes, so I need to break them in! It’s important to make compromises with your body and your schedule. Listening to your body is smart. It makes the difference between running for a few years and running for the rest of your life. Hopefully stretching, more ice and new shoes help the healing process!

217924_md
ASICS GEL- Nimbus 15. Neutral, narrow shoe.

Now, I don’t know about the rest of you, but… I am a horrible stress eater. When I was a child (okay… and through high school), I suffered from pretty bad anxiety. I don’t really know why, I guess I just worry a lot about the world and everything in it. Any who, I would eat all day and all night. Anything I could get my hands on- I know, not a pretty sight. As I started to explore the fitness world and learn to listen to my body, I begin pinpointing my triggers:

  • I would eat while watching TV. Such a bad idea. If you don’t pay attention to what your eating and how much, you’ll stuff a whole pizza before realizing it.
  • I would eat when I was nervous or upset. Yes, I did think that food would give me a comforting “full feeling”. Nope, it just filled out my pants haha
  • I would eat before sleeping. No no no! Eat 2-3 hours before sleeping. Laying horizontal makes digestion harder since gravity isn’t helping.

Since finding out my flaws of emotional eating I have figured out several methods to help deter myself from binge eating:

  1. Drink water before thinking about a snack
  2. Brush your teeth after dinner so you won’t be as tempted to eat
  3. Sit down and realize what is stressing you out
  4. Go work out!!!

Life happens and so does eating 10 homemade cookies… oops. But don’t punish yourself. Accept that you did it and move on- you’re only human. Dieting should be: 80% hard work and 20% indulgence. It makes treats that much more rewarding and really makes you think about what you’ll choose.

Three-Legged-Dog
Great yoga poses for runners! Stretches legs and opens hips

Since my new running schedule, I ran today, yoga tomorrow, run 5 miles Sunday, cardio Monday. I can post the edited running schedule next time.

Hope everyone is staying warm!

PS- looking for new workout music! I’m into anything with a good beat, suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

