Core! Activate!

Hey everyone!

Sorry it’s taken me so long to write! I’ve been dealing with papers and other collegiate like things. The other day I went running outside and there was so much black ice! I thought I had made it safely and fell in my driveway… again!

In my yoga practices and running sessions, I’ve been trying to get more in touch with my core. It’s always been the hardest thing for me to do. “Engage the core! Suck the belly button into the spine!” I’m trying, I’m trying!

When engaging you’re abs, the idea is to create a solid ring around your midsection. This means activating your core to create a cylindrical effect around your abdomen. Although it sounds silly, some of these techniques help you get a feel for your core flexing so you can mimic that sensation while working out to reach maximum efficiency.

  • Gear up like someone is going to punch you in the stomach. But really!
  • Rest your hands on either side of your abdomen and try to push your hands away from your body by just using your abs
  • exhale air forcefully, either by a laugh or a cough
  • lay down on your back and tilt your pelvis. You’re back will arch when you tilt it one way, and flatten completely when doing another (this is a fundamental Pilates technique). Exercises should be done with a neutral spine- which means leaving a small space between the mat and your lower back.
  • yoga bridge pose: feet hip-with distance apart, arms down by your side, lift your hips and keep your shoulder on the ground
  • planks! both front and side (can be done on knees)

Engaging your core comes in handy for all sorts of activity! Running helps to scoop your stomach in and curl your tail bone. This especially helps for slow, long, steep inclines. Any sport that requires foundation and balance stems from core strength. Back strength is also an added bonus- when we work one muscle group we need to work it’s opposing muscle group too.

Today I tried these planks at the gym. Ouch!

5db4dd11ed5d26b9215a15c4e6d3827f
Sorry the picture is so small! click to make it bigger!

I have some exciting news! My fitness guru mission is now becoming a reality! I’m currently enrolled in the ACE personal training program! There are plenty of programs out there and I did my research. Each has its advantages and disadvantages, it kind of depends on where you’re at in life and finances. The ACE program fits best with my life style. The person makes the certificate, not the other way around.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

