Feeding the Mind

Hey everyone!

On my on going quest to become a fitness guru, I’ve found myself chanting the age old mantra- mind, body, and soul. I really believe that these three aspects effect one another in a trifecta of sorts. The goal is to have each open and listened to. Many problems stem from neglecting one of these three domains. Now that I graduated, I’ve begun searching for jobs, working on my running times, and figuring out my life plans. So, what better way to continue feeding my mind then to read?! I wanted to share this book with you all because I actually think it’s really great!

Born To Run by Christopher McDougall. “A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen.”

Unknown

This book is so great! It’s about Christopher’s search into the science behind running that leads him to seek out the Tarahumara tribe in the Copper Canyons of Mexico. These runners make me laugh! Here I thought I was so cool with my awesome (and expensive) running shoes, my sporty looking outfit and all the other “necessary” accessories runners need. These people party all night and run all day in flimsily shoes and whatever they have for clothes. They run miles and miles for fun! Their big race is 100 miles!! Most of them run with marathon times around 2 hours. 2 hours?! “Excuse my while I casually run a marathon in 2 hours, I’ll be back later”. I’d be lucky to get my half marathon down to 2 hours! Anyways, this book is fantastic. He really takes the time to research running and the whole history of not only the sport, but the mentality.

We were born to run; we were born because we run. We’re all running people… But the American approach- ugh. Rotten at its core. It was too artificial and grabby, too much about getting stuff and getting it now; medals, Nike deals, a cute butt. It wasn’t art; it was bushiness, a hard- nosed quid pro quo. No wonder so many people hated running; if you thought it was only a means to an end- an investment in becoming faster, skinnier, richer- then why stick with it if you were’t getting enough quo for your quid?

Its interesting to read this book and the the differing mentality of this female American runner whose going for the win and gritting her teeth to be number one, while some Tarahumara tribe members are enjoying themselves and laughing through the toughest parts! While she is all competitive, these two men are really just enjoying their run- not for the glory, but just for the act!

Unknown-1

I’m about half way through currently, but I wanted to share with you all because I think this quote really speaks to fitness in general. I see people come to the gym and create beautifully fit bodies- but that’s all they ever create! It’s literally all about their body. “I get it I get it, you have a rocking bod- but what else do you have?”. Its almost annoying, you know? As a personal trainer, I want people to be fit and healthy, but most importantly I just want my clients to get to know their bodies and what they can do and what they are really capable of doing. Once you start listening to your body, you can combat anything with patients and true self-understanding. Why get that slamin bod if that’s all you have at the end of the day? I want people to lose weight/ inches but really gain a wonderful state of mind and an amazing feeling of being proud and really love your mind, body, and soul.

I’m waiting to hear back from two gyms about maybe getting an internship as a trainer! Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

