Eat More to Weigh Less?

Hey readers!

Today I wanted to write about eating- because who doesn’t love food?!

Interestingly enough, I find myself eating more in the fight to lose weight. I don’t mean gourmet meal 24/7. I mean more along the lines of “eating like a bird”. Portion control is KEY here. It’s a task and a half, but measuring out serving sizes really makes you question if its worth putting in your mouth. For instance: yesterday for breakfast I had

  • 2 cups of watermelon
  • 1/4 cup of blueberries
  • 1/2 cup strawberries
  • 1/2 cup of raspberries

This breakfast was a grand total of 160 calories. Yup! That’s it for all that food! Compared to one strawberry flavored Pop Tart with 200 calories per pastry. No thank you!

Unknown

original

Using MyFitnessPal’s recommended caloric intake plus the calories I burn off after a good workout, I can monitor how many calories a meal should consist of (around 400) and snacks should consist of(100-150). (It’s different from person to person plus your fitness goals.) It’s also important to see when your energy level dips and to feed yourself right to keep you going longer. Here’s how I try and eat on a normal day:

  • Breakfast 7:30-8ish
  • Coffee around 10am- My coffee has that caffeine kick that keeps me full until lunch!
  • Lunch 12-1pm
  • Snack 3:30ish
  • Small snack at 5ish- this is when my energy is super low. Instead of eating all the appetizers and wolfing down a large dinner, I try to grab something high in protein to hold me over to dinner
  • Dinner 7:30ish and sometimes a little something sweet after!

A few important things to remember

  1. Lunch should be the biggest meal. I know that at the end of a long day your just starving to dig into that pasta bowl, but stop! If you keep your digestion track and metabolism somewhat working throughout the day and you drink a glass of water before eating, you won’t feel as ravenous at dinner.
  2. Protein is a great snack, but don’t make it your only goal. Hummus has protein and you can also have a veggie serving. Nuts are always great in small quantities. High in fat, but will certainly hold you over!
  3. Water! Sometimes your body says “I’m hungry” when your actually more thirsty. So if you just ate a meal or a snack, try and drink some water and wait a bit before looking for something to feed the appetite.
  4. Listen to your body and don’t starve yourself! It’s hard in the beginning! Measuring your food alone is difficult. But once you start and get comfortable with it, you can start eyeballing things to guestimate.

Yesterday was a 4.8 mile hill run, today is cardio and meeting with my personal trainer! Hope I can walk tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

