Guess What I Got…

Hi!

So, after much debating (okay maybe a week after my activity trackers post) I went and bout myself duh duh duh duh!!

IMG_1142

I decided on the Jawbone Up24 Onyx color size small. You guys… It’s really cool. I love it! Its really fun to track my sleep, food, steps, activities, and my mood all on one interface. The band itself is really durable- I got caught outside in a 10 minute downpour at work and the thing is still kicking. Two added features I really love are

  • Smart Alarm. I have an alarm set for 6am on weekdays and this feature has a 10 minute window for wake up. This means that my Jawbone will wake me up in a light sleep earlier than 6am before letting me enter a deep sleep and having a groggy wake up at 6. This is wonderful. I wake up to a gentle vibration on my wrist, feeling all refreshed- instead of the blaring alarm and the lack of motivation to open my eyes.
  • Reminders. I set an alarm to remind myself to take my medicine at 6:30pm and sure enough! 6:30pm rolls around and my arm starts vibrating! This has been much more effective than trying to keep my phone on me and missing the little alarm sound it makes.

IMG_1143

I can even make a team! My mom and I are teammates and I can see her sleep and steps compared to my own! I’ve been kicking butt with my steps lately. My average so far is 11,893 steps. That’s well above the recommended 10,000 a day. It even sent me a little notification when I reached 50,000 steps! That’s equivalent to a marathon! Another cool thing is that over time it will track patterns and give me personalized suggestions and tips. So so cool.

My one complaint, and maybe its a combo between RunKeeper and the Jawbone, is the distance. RunKeeper has been giving me issues in general. Maybe my phone is old? The distance/ pace has been widely incorrect lately. I’m pretty sure I didn’t run 11 miles, and most certainly cannot do a 2:30 minute mile. Jawbone has also been generous with the milage. I ran a 5 mile loop the other day and it said I did 6 miles. I’m going to keep my eye on it and maybe recalibrate it to sync with my gait a bit. Other than that? Nothing!

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

