My First Client

Hi everyone!

Wednesday was my group interview for what I thought was Athleta, but turned out to be for Lululemon. My white wale! I have tried to apply so many times only to be ignored. Not even a blatant “You do not fit what we are looking for”- just radio silence. How rude! I decided to go even though I had accepted the job at Athleta. I was curious to see how their interview process differed and if I would even get a “call back”.  I can conclude that I do not like group interviews. Right off the bat I noticed that 5 of the 6 girls being interviewed were blonde. Of us six girls, four were wearing the brand (not me, I think that’s kind of silly). I won’t really go into detail about the process. They just asked us questions and we would go around and answer them. It felt more like trying to get into a sorority than interviewing for a retail job. My interview with Athleta was much more along the lines of what I was expecting both as a clothing store job and a fitness opportunity. I’m really excited to be a part of the crew- I think that it would be a really great platform for my own health and fitness as well as my professional life.

My profile is finally up on HammerFit! I felt so weird writing it. I wasn’t sure how to present myself to future potential clients without sounding lame. I also made one for the flyer for all the trainers at the gym that talks more about my interests as a trainer. I had my first client Thursday. He’s a seasoned runner and has been working with a trainer at HammerFit who recently retired. His needs more of a motivating gym buddy than someone to actually give him a workout routine. He was telling me about his sports history and how he was into Chi Running. I’ve actually heard this term before but wasn’t quite sure what it meant.

chi-running

  • Chi refers to the belief that there is an energy force inside us that unties the mind, body, and spirit.
  • Similar to Tai Chi, the goal is to harness the inner energy and align it properly (in this case it applies to your running posture and not your fighting posture)- making running enjoyable and pain free
  • There 10 techniques the program focuses on that are tweaked from person to person depending on different variables (skill level, previous injuries, etc.)

I wanted to do some research and maybe my client will talk more about it with me. I like the sound of pain free running!

An old coworker of mine was asking me for some good inner thigh moves- I gave her a few of my go-to exercises because it’s one of my target areas as well. As a runner, I’ve been trying to strengthen my thighs so that once they begin to fatigue from running, more muscles will be helping out. Plus, I was reading about exercises in different directions. We mostly move forward, so its super important to move in different planes in order to keep running/spinning a quad dominant sport. No more tight hamstrings please!!

c943d3d80a3d14bc543c8982948ecc53
I don’t know about 30 minutes, more like 30 days if done 3 times a week!

Bye Bye Inner Thigh!  (Repeat 2X)

  1. Wide squats (10 reps)
  2. Speed Skater (10 reps)
  3. Side lunges ((10 reps each leg)
  4.  Pilates Inner Thigh Lifts (10 lift and lower, 10 pulses EACH leg-ouch)
  5.  Narrow Squat with a kick Back (10 reps)
  6.  Sumo Squat(10 reps)
  7. Narrow Squat with a side lift (10 reps each leg)
  8. Glute Bridge pulse with towel/block in-between your legs to squeeze (10 reps)
  9. Drawing circles (5 circles both directions, each leg)
  10. Crisscrossing  (10 reps)

Notice something? That’s right… squats baby! If you are unsure of any movement, just google images or YouTube. There are tons of pictures and demo videos!

It’s Thigh Time PopSugar video is also really awesome!!

Monday I climbed my first 4,000 footer! Mount Mansfield up here in Vermont! I had no idea how to pack- a threw in a scarf, rain jacket, food, and a few more layers just to be safe. I think I actually prepared quite nicely. The top was about 40 degrees with some good wind- totally worth it for the view. We even hiked a little on the Long Trail. I think it would be kind of neat to do all the 4,000 footers in Vermont. Maybe some in Maine too!

IMG_2063

IMG_1744
view from the chin

Hope you all have a fun day! ♥

PS- My Half is in two weeks! Don’t forget to donate! Help me raise money for Camp Sunshine and all the good it does for sick kids and their families!

Leave a Reply

