The Dream Is Becoming A Reality

Hello there

What a wonderful day I just had!

First, I started off with my Yoga Teacher training, which has been going so well! I’ve already passed 60 hours. Since starting, I really changed my idea of teaching and how I want to go about it. Plus, I’m starting to branch out to try other branched of yoga- which leads me to my next fun event of the day.

Burlington has it’s 7th annual yoga conference going on today and tomorrow. There are a ton of interesting classes, as well as henna, yoga clothes, and massages! With teacher training all morning and work all day tomorrow, I made an effort to try one class out- Ayurvedic Yoga Flow- Lunar Series. The workshop was taught by a woman who has a yoga clinic up in Montreal. She gave a little background Ayurveda (of course I took some notes):

  • It’s the medicinal sister science to yoga. The two go hand in had. While yoga focuses on breathing, poses, and alignments Ayurveda is more concentrated on diet, body cleaning and lifestyle
  • There are 5 elemental beliefs: air, earth, fire, water, and space and the relationships between the elements are called doshas
  • The main goal is to keep everything balanced and in harmony. A lot of things throw out off balance. We are born with certain characteristics and our life, environment and interactions can throw us out of sync.
  • Sleep and digestion are closely related and some practiconers hone in on that as an area of study
sunlight-dragonfly
This was last year’s conference photo in the same room I was in.

After the quick summary, we started the asana (poses) portion. Have you heard of sun salutes? Well, today I finally learned moon salutes. I had always wondered if there was a moon salute or some sort of night sequence. I enjoyed it a lot and it helped inspire me for my own class.

Speaking of class… I have two of my own classes! The free series I was doing has continued and now I get paid. Which, is all fine and good, but it’s just such a honor to be able to teach others and grow as a yoga instructor. I’ve even started private lessons. It’s hard to advertise at my gym, but I’m slowly making waves. The other class I’m teaching is a QuickFit class on Fridays. I have a “usually crew” that comes in and we all have a good sweaty time. I do burped, weights, body weight exercises, and cardio. Each week is always different.

A nice added benefit from teaching my classes, is that I use the money I make each month to pay towards my teacher training sessions.

To top my day off, I came back to snuggle with my puppy and make dream catchers. It was a nice zen day to the very end.

My puppy 🙂

 

 

What’s up next? Training for my half marathon, working towards my 200 hour, working on my New Years Resolutions, and working towards my nutrition certification. As well as looking for a new protein powder (post coming soon).

May you be filled with love and kindness, May you be peaceful and at ease, May you be well, May you know happiness and the roots of all happiness 

I got side crow!

»♥«

Leave a Reply

