50 Races for 50 States: Andover, MA

Hey everyone!

I’m sorry I’ve been so busy! I’ll catch ya’ll up on what I’ve been doing

Personal training: it’s going well! I have consistent clients and I see progress in both fitness and motivation realms.

Yoga: my class is still at a weird time, but I do get new people pretty much every class, so that’s pretty cool.

Teacher Training: I hit the 100 mark for teacher training!  Also, I am able to finally grab my big toe in triangle while keeping my legs extended. Yay!

Triangle-Pose-Trikonasana-Arm-Along-Ear1
like this lady!
Running:

Yesterday I ran my 4th half marathon and completed my 3rd state! So that’s Vermont, New Hampshire, and now Massachusetts that I can check off my list. Only 47 more to go! 

  No one donated to my fundraiser (well, besides my mom) and I realized it’s really hard to advertise especially when I can’t fine a good website that will deposit money directly to a charity-we’ll have to see how that all goes. I was actually considering doing a charity towards my yoga schooling, but I didn’t want people to get the wrong impression. We’ll see. As far as the race goes, I only have three blisters! The only part of me that is sore is my neck, which I had already anticipated anyways. My time was the same as last time, 2:45 on the mark. I wasn’t focused on my time though. This was more of a “running analysis”. I focused on

  • Posture. whenever I am tired, I start to hunch over and start the t-rex arms. During this race I focused on keeping my upper body in line by slowing my pace down and picking up my knees or changing to a quick walk when I felt the shoulder hunch coming on.
  • Walk/running. This one was hard for me because my pride told me that walking is for losers- which is so un true. Someone had once told me to “walk before you’re body is tired”. I usually get fatigued around mile 6 but with the walk/run method I didn’t feel bad until mile 10! I think I would have had a better race time if they hadn’t made the second part of the course so hilly. There was a hill at mile 11 and 12 that really kicked butt. It was such a steep incline. I decided to run walk it so I wasn’t spent on the downhill portion that followed.
  • Running to recover. In my NH race last October, I remember seeing people pretty much dragging themselves over the finish line. This one woman threw up right in front of us. I never ever want to feel like that after a race! But ever since my neck surgery, I feel like recovery has been a lot more difficult for me. I get really shaky and my heart rate takes a while to settle. It’s like I can’t catch my breath. I ended up laying down with my legs elevated and that seemed to help a lot. I can only contribute it this time to the heat (which i haven’t been used to) and maybe dehydration the few days before. Thinking back, I probably should have been on the water more for the few days before the race.
  • Gu. I’ve been experimenting with Gu and different brands/flavors. After a few trial runs, I found the the brand GU was the best for me. I give me the most energy the fastest and had the best flavors. I did try Cliff Blocks and the brand Vega, which is a plant based protein- but I didn’t like either of them! Especially the plant one. Oh my god it was so bad!
  • Hydration. I had been practicing with my camel back, but when i read that there was a water station every 2 miles, I decided that maybe I didn’t need it. I think I consumed the same amount of water as I would have with my camel back, but in the future I’d like to invest in a belt with the water bottles on the side. I think the backpack is just a little too much and the water bottles on the sides won’t be as heavy. Maybe they’ll have a sale!

I think in the end, I need to take a longer gap between my next half marathon. I should work slower towards the 13 miles with 5ks, 10ks, and 15ks and being comfortable with those distances.  Maybe I can convince my parents to take a warm vacation this winter so I can do Florida or Hawaii or California for my next race!

This week is post race recovery/buying new sneakers. Today, I walked for an hour, did some light arms and abs. I did yoga for 30 minutes this afternoon and I’m teaching class tonight. This week will pretty much consist of walking and weight training, maybe a mile or two (depending on these pesky blisters) and then next week I’ll try and add another mile in. I think I’m hiking this week if the weather is nice- check out my Instagram for photos to come.

Have you all have a wonderful day!

»♥«

Leave a Reply

