Happy Anniversary to Me!

Today marks the one year of my personal training career! This date last year I took my exam in Boston and became a real actual trainer with a certificate and everything!

I feel like I’ve learned a TON this past year on training, gyms, and fitness in general- and I’m sure I have a lot more to go!

A few fitness tips from the first year

  • Don’t put your hands on your hips when working with a client or a class. It looks bossy.
  • Every body is different and should be treated as such
  • Always clean up a room after you teach class in it. It’s polite and respectful to both the place that allows you to teach and your own teaching abilities.
  • If you don’t know something, learn!
  • Work on your “sales pitch”. Why did you become a trainer? What makes you a good trainer? Why are you different than other trainers? What do you hope to provide your clients with? This is something that changes over time, but it’s a good idea to start a rough draft. This looks good to potential gyms.
  • Try every exercise you do with someone as best you can. The physical comparison can be very helpful
  • To a degree you can wing it, but if your gut feeling is that it may be dangerous- don’t do it! Client benching more than you can lift? Go to the smith machine!
  • Read your client, don’t assume. Some people want a drill Sargent, some people want a work out buddy. The client sets the tone and will take it to whatever level they expect.

And most importantly- be fluid! Have a back up plan, use everything available in and outside the gym. Be adventurous!

HammerFit has been very good to me. I really lucked out with a gym this easy going. I don’t think it would have been as successful if I had gone somewhere else. I don’t know many places that will let non certified instructors teach. My yoga would not be the same at all. Throwing myself out there and teaching has given me the confidence and practice I need. Each class I feel a little bit better, my flow is a little more fluid, and my own practice is a little deeper.

Thanks to everyone whose been following me thus far. Keep and eye out for my next update!

»♥«

Leave a Reply

