DIY Face Masks

Hey everyone,

Working in a gym environment can be pretty dirty. With all the cleaning, teaching, and people germs around, it’s hard to stay clean. As a trainer, my body is my true advertisement. People look at you to see see what success can look like (to a degree).  It’s difficult to convey physical benefits of healthy living when you’ve got acne. It’s the woorrssstttt. It’s not that I eat poorly, or have bad hygiene habits. It’s just a combination between sensitive skin and hormonal issues.

Proactive. Murad. Neutrogena. Clean and Clear. Clinique. Aveeno. What do these things have in common? They stopped working after a few months of use.

I’m a little tired of the expensive product lines and rashes, dry skin, red blotches, and any other side effect. I’ve been trying out a lot of different home remedy things and here are my four favorites so far.

1. Egg Mask

One egg, some water, mix it and apply! Personally, I use this every so often because it mimics a chemical peel. Your skin will feel tight and the dried solution will literally peel off. This treatment is helpful in removing the top layer of skin which is mostly dirt and dead skin cells from other layers.Start with rinsing your face off with warm water to get any dirt and help open the pours. Keep it on for 5-10 minutes (try 5 minutes to start). Peel what you can off, and use warm water for the rest.If your skin is feeling dry or looking red, use a non scented cream.

2. Baking Soda

Again pretty simple. Even mix of baking soda (not powder) and water. This mask is pretty messy to put on, and cracks as it drys, so keep a towel nearby. Apply thoroughly and keep on for 5-15 minutes. Rinse with warm water and moisturize if needed. The baking soda acts more like a “pulling to the surface” face mask. If you’ve ever used a face strip for blackheads, its the same concept. I like this one every once a week or once every two weeks.

3. Honey

I’ve heard really great things about honey as a face mask. Honey has a lot of all natural healing properties that can be used for more than just acne. All you need is raw honey, nothing but honey in the ingredients. I used about a tablespoon and applied it directly to your face. Apply and rub in for about a minute and then let it sit for up to 15 minutes. One woman said she washed her face twice a day with it, leaving the mask on for a minute or so. My first attempt was only for 5 minutes right before my shower. I really expected it to be a lot more messy than it turned out to be. It also come right off in water.

4. Apple Cider Vinegar Toner

Recently I’ve run into more and more people who have had success using this product as a toner. I made the mistake of literally applying it right to my face and it burned my skin. After more research I found a lot of people do a 1:3 ratio with water. Some people even put in some essential oils to make it smell nice (because it smells wicked strong no matter what). The nice part is, you only need a few drops. I made a 3 oz container and used maybe 7 drops of each. The only flaw of this mask is that I can smell it when I sweat. But if it helps my acne then I’ll deal. Be sure you get all natural vinegar. If it says “with the mother” it means its all natural. It has those weird floaty bits in it.

Hopefully anyone out there who needs help finds these helpful… and that it helps me with my damn acne!

I’ll keep you all posted »♥«

5 thoughts on “DIY Face Masks

  1. Yay for going the all-natural route! After years of harsh chemical treatments, I found my miracle cure of raw honey. It cleared up my face and body acne.

    Like

      • Regular raw honey works just fine! The properties of Manuka honey are apparently more potent than other kinds, but in my experience there wasn’t a drastic difference. You can find raw honey at many natural food stores like Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods. YS Eco Bee raw honey is a good option. Good luck and let me know how it works for you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

