Daring Smoothing Concoction

Hey folks,

A few weeks ago, the yoga studio invited a couple to come teach us about Ayurveda-more specifically Marma (which is essential Ayurvedic acupressure). They discussed yoga, body types, diet, massage techniques, and so much more. It was all so fascinating! I could share all the notes I took, but we’ll save that for another post.

Okay, so what does this have to do with a smoothie adventure?

One of the biggest things emphasized was digestion. Not just physical digestion of food, but digestion of the total self and others around you. How can you digest your giant breakfast, your own life, and anyone else’s life all at once?

On top of that, they also discussed when/ what to eat during these times depending on your body type. Food consumption between 10am and 2pm- especially in the summer- should be as liquid based as possible. It is the hottest time of the day for the human body internally, and a solid meal at this time will take more energy to break down, leaving the individual slower.

Well, this was interesting. I have been dealing with a weird heat rash that appears every summer right on my stomach. I was told it’s because I am very sensitive to this heat fluctuation of my core temperature. Interesting, no?

I wanted to see if this “liquid lunch” would make a difference for my heat rash, so for the past two weeks I’ve been having very light lunches or smoothies.

Today, I was really struggling. What I call a “two-cup-of-coffee” kind of day and thus this daring blend was born.

Ingredients:

  • 8 ozs of coffee (any flavor-but I chose columbian blend)

I’m not even joking about the next ingredients.

Let me just say though, I was trying to think about blending flavors while still getting benefits and was prepared for something lacking in flavor but bursting in nutrition:

  • 1/2 cup of frozen blueberries
  • 2/3 cups of fresh kale
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • 1 medium sized banana
  • ice

I know, I know. I was kind of terrified too.

I had to try it.

Funny thing is, it just tasted like a sweetened coffee! If I had a better blender I wouldn’t have even known kale was in it! The best name I can come up with is the Caffeinated Kale Smoothie… I’ll work on the name a bit.

The product of this smoothie came out to something quite similar to this.

My Fitness Pal logged the nutrition as-

  • Calories: 423
  • Sugar: 44 g
  • Protein: 23 g
  • Carbs: 74 g
  • Fiber: 13 g
  • Fat: 4 g

Try it out… if you dare!

Leave a Reply

