Protein Push

Hey everyone!

As much as I love winter, this one seemed especially long and lonesome. I had a hard time hitting the slopes, and it was too cold and dark to run outside. My never ending love-hate relationship with the treadmill motivated me to sign up for a few road races. I may or may not have gotten carried away though…

  1. April 30th- (Cheshire, CT) Ion Bank Half Marathon
  2. May 20th- (Stowe, VT) Craft Brew 5k
  3. May 28th- (Burlington, VT) Vermont City Marathon Relay
  4. June 25th- (Boston, MA) B.A.A 10k
  5. July 4th- (Bridgeton, ME) Four on the Fourth 4 Mile
  6. July 9th- (Palmerton, PA) Spartan Super
  7. August 19th- (Boston, MA) Night Run 5k
  8. September 16th- (Killington, VT) Spartan Beast
  9. October 1st- (Long Island, NY) Divas Running Series Half Marathon
  10. November 5th- (Fenway Park, MA) Spartan Sprint
  11. November 23rd-(TBA) Turkey Trot 5k

In my attempts to train, I’ve begun to notice a considerable deficit in my protein intake. Has anyone else noticed how hard it is to eat protein all day?! Before really examining my necessary intake for optimal outcome, I was beginning to feel lethargic and really run down. I’ve always been a sound sleeper but for a while I was tossing and turning all night. It’s only been a few days of really watching my gram intake and I already feel a lot better.

I know I am a huge MFP (MyFitnessPal) promoter, but I really believe it is the best educational tool out there for food and nutrition. When I was running, I had the macros calculated to focus on carbs. Now that I’m cross training and exercising for at least one hour a day, I recalibrated my needs. Currently, I should be consuming:

  • 165g (40%) of Carbs
  • 124g (30%) of Protein
  •  55g (30%) of Fat

*Percentages based off a 1,700 caloric intake*

THAT IS SO MUCH PROTEIN!

124g is the equivalent of roughly: 29 pieces of thick cut bacon, 20 hard boiled eggs, 3.5 pounds of bison, 10 scoops of Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein, 4.75 cups of low fat Cabot cottage cheese, or 77.5 medium sized shrimp.

shrimp

I think I have my work cut out for me as far as finding creative recipes… It’s been difficult due to the food restrictions I have at my job (we have a lot of obscure allergies). Once I get a little more comfortable in the kitchen, I’ll try to start sharing helpful recipes.

Hope you all have a great day!

 

2 thoughts on “Protein Push

  1. Those shrimp look so delicious 😋. Never had a problem getting protein, I know that I need it. Starting marathon training soon though and I’m worried I will have to up my carbohydrates. Most of what I get right now is from fruits and veg, i eat very little grain. That makes me feel best but it might have to change as my mileage goes up, for energy. We shall see! Good luck on all your races, that’s quite a schedule 😀.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

