Mental Work

Hi everyone!

Last week, I finally started my meditation- my new mental workout.

In recent years, meditation has become a hot topic to study-and the findings show that it can help a wide range of people and health issues.

I’ve had a few apps on my phone that I’d listen to while doing things. Mostly to see if I liked the app or the voice. After some research, I decided to try out Headspace. This app has animations, tips, and it can be customized to fit to your lifestyle. Andy, one of the creators and the voice for each day, is soft and yet not too “dreamy”. The only downside is that is costs a monthly fee.


Personally, I decided to start meditating because I find myself too busy in my mind. If I’m sitting somewhere beautiful or having a casual conversation with someone, I’m also thinking of today, tomorrow, the things I need to do, the things I need to be better at, how to make more money, getting ready for school, etc. Lately, my attention to detail seems off and I’m not actually ever relaxed. When I finally lay down at night for bed, I can feel my body slowly releasing tension. I attribute a lot of my scatter brain to my phone. Everything is instant and quick. Information is best seen in blurbs. I’ve made a consciences decision to make limit my digital intake in the morning and while in bed. Now, I listen to podcasts while I get ready in the morning,

So, the big question is: how’s it going so far?

Well… honestly? It’s really hard. I like that I’m spending time out of my day to try and get grounded and take care of myself. Headspace is very calming and even though I’m not anywhere close to stillness of the mind, I don’t feel like I’m being judged. It’s actually been very interesting as far as processing certain emotions I’ve been ignoring. I’m currently on day 8 and after reading MindBodyGreen’s post on meditating for 100 days and the differences the witter say. Needless to say, I was jealous.

My goal is to make it 100 days! I’ll try to update it at the 30 day mark. Wish me luck! And please, please, please check out headspace!

Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

