Cottage Cheese

Hello everyone!

In my ongoing quest to boost my protein intake, (visit the Protein Push post), I’ve had to become more creative than the usual chicken/eggs/bison combo- how many days can someone go before that gets really boring?! Personally, it was getting boring fast and I found myself gravitating towards cottage cheese. For anyone who has any texture issues when it comes to food, I totally hear you out, but sometimes you just have to start experimenting and you’ll find a modification that is right for you.

My mom is always raving about how much cottage cheese helps her in a bind at work, so I pulled up the nutrition info for Cabot’s No Fat Cottage Cheese (what we usually stock in my house- other brand nutrition info may vary)-

500_cottage-cheese-not-fat-1.5lb

Badge Badge Badge
Nutrition Facts

Ingredients: Pasteurized skim milk*, nonfat dry milk*, grade A whey, salt, titanium dioxide(color), guar gum, carrageenan, citric acid, locust bean gum, cultured grade A skim milk*, lacticacid, phosphoric acid, natural flavoring, potassium sorbate (to maintain freshness), Vitamin D3, Vitamin A palmitate, milk*, modified cellulose, enzymes. *adds a trivial amount of fat

Serving Size: 1/2 cup (113g)
  • Calories: 70
  • Calories from Fat: 0
  • Total Fat: 0
  • Saturated Fat: 0
  • Trans Fat: 0
  • Cholesterol: 5
  • Sodium: 410
  • Total Carbohydrate: 5
  • Dietary Fiber: 0
  • Sugars: 4
  • Protein: 13
  • Vitamin D: 20%
  • Calcium: 10%

Information provided by Cabot

With the nutrition info and texture issues in mind, I started to try out my own recipes and here is my go to:

Taylor’s quick fix cottage cheese lunch

 -Ingredients: 1/2 avocado, 1/2 cup of cottage cheese, two hard boiled eggs
– Mix/mash all ingredients together
– Eat!
* This meal is 327 calories, 26 grams protein, 20 grams fat, 11 grams carbs, 4 grams sugar. Not to mention its actually wicked filling. *
If this doesn’t sound like something you’d dare to try, there are many other ways to incorporate cottage cheese into your daily life.
  1. Use it as a salad dressing
  2. Substitute cottage (or ricotta) cheese for fats and milk
  3. Use it in a smoothie!
  4. Blend it into a homemade mac and cheese classic
  5. Make the most delicious pancakes ever. EVER. These pancakes are so yummy!! I ordered them out one time and I still dream of them. I will be trying to recreate the recipe soon and I will update this post to tell you of my cooking adventure (because it’s always an adventure when I try to cook).

If anyone else has texture-smoothing recipes, please feel free to share!

Have a wonderful day 🙂

Leave a Reply

